

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING March 31, 2010 OWN CO-OP, 115 The Esplanade

Executive Members in Attendance:

President: Suzanne Kavanagh, St. Lawrence on the Park

VP Internal: Jacquie Williams, Old York Tower

Secretary: Matthew Raizenne, Longboat Residents Assoc

At Large: Wallace Simpson, Crombie Park At Large: Ronny Yaron, Woodsworth Co-op

VP External: Lumumba Wolde-Gabriel, 140 The Esplanade

At Large: Dan O'Leary, 15 Scadding

Voting Delegates in Attendance:

Cherril Baker - David B. Archer Co-op Loretta Allen - Cathedral Court Co-op Catherine Limbertie - 1 Church Street Catherine West - 1 Church Street Joan Campbell - 80 Front Street E. Debra Corey - 230 King St. E. Donna Patterson - 230 King St. E. Robert Sherrin - 261 King St. E. David Crawford - 135 George Street S Sherri Russell - 31 Princess St. Keith Bricknell - 7 King St. E. Bob Parkin - 71 Front St. E. Conny Yang, O.W.N. Siobhan McLaughlin, St. Lawrence on the Park Marcus Little, The Wellington

Associate Members & Guests:

Tardif Benoit – 25 Henry Lane Juan Ménorz – 2 Market Street

Suzanne Smith, Recording Secretary

Executive Member Regrets:

Treasurer: Bruno Leps, Market Square

Abdi Nur - Muriel Collins Co-op
Hawaa Kabbashy - New Hibret Co-op Homes Inc.
Alan Seymour - Old York Tower
Maureen Walsh - 15 Scadding
Marc Piccinato - Windmill Line
Ian Campbell - Woodsworth Coop
Lene Andersen, 140 The Esplanade
Marie Copkov, 176 The Esplanade
Ewa Jarmicka, Harmony Co-op Homes
George Millbrandt, Longboat Residents Association
Getachew Fantu, New Hibret Co-op Homes Inc.
Mohammed Hoque, New Hibret Co-op Homes Inc.
Elizabeth Ecker, St. Lawrence on the Park
Cathy Waiten, The Indigo, 50 Lombard

Regrets:

Joyce Arnold, 135 George Street South

Tom Davidson - Councillor McConnell's Office Ed Nixon – EN Consulting

1. REGISTRATION AND REFRESHMENTS

2. OPENING OF MEETING

2.1 Opening Remarks

Suzanne Kavanagh (President) stated that she would be chairing the meeting and called the meeting to order at 8:04 p.m.

2.2 Approval of Agenda

The Delegates reviewed the agenda for the meeting as circulated:

It was resolved to approve the agenda for the Delegates' meeting as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.**

MOTIONED BY: Lumumba Wolde-Gabriel

SECONDED BY: David Crawford

2.3 Approval of Minutes

The Delegates reviewed the minutes of the meeting held on March 25, 2009.

It was resolved to approve the minutes of the Delegates' meeting held on March 25, 2009 as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.**

MOTIONED BY: Lumumba Wolde-Gabriel

SECONDED BY: David Crawford

3 Treasurer's Report:

The Treasurer's Report was presented by Matthew Raizenne:

The Delegates reviewed the audited Financial Statements as circulated:

It was resolved to approve the audited Financial Statements for the period ending December 31 2009 as circulated. All were in favour and the motion was CARRIED.

MOTIONED BY: Matthew Raizenne SECONDED BY: Joan Campbell

It was resolved to appoint the firm of Cowperthwaite Mehta Chartered Accountants LLP as the auditors until the next Annual General Meeting. All were in favour and the motion was CARRIED.

MOTIONED BY: Matthew Raizenne SECONDED BY: Dan O'Leary

Q: How many years in a row has this firm been used? Is there a policy to change the auditor as it is good to change every 5 years or to take it out to tender to ensure paying fair amount.

A: This firm has been used for the past 3 years.

Q: Is it in the Bylaws to change the auditor?

A: No, however, it is outlined in the bylaws that members vote on appointing the auditor at every AGM.

4 President's Report:

- S. Kavanagh presented the various accomplishments of the SLNA for the past year.
 - Events: Environment Day, Bike Race, Canada Day, Buskerfest, Toronto Waterfront Marathon
 - **Presenters**: Councillor McConnell, Minister George Smitherman, City Staff, Waterfront Toronto, George Brown College, Toronto Police Services
 - Development Committee
 - Projects: Bylaws have been completed, delegates were thanked for their hard work; Children's Garden, Accessible Swing Set, Food Drive Challenge, Flowering Baskets and Tree Watering, Guerilla Garbage Gang, Old town Toronto Senior Centre, Membership continues to grow, West Jarvis Community Initiative.

5 Election:

S. Kavanagh turned the position of Chair over to Alan Seymour to conduct the procedures for the election of Directors. Alan Seymour thanked the outgoing Board for their contributions and efforts and explained the process of voting for directors, stating that only up to and including six votes will be accepted on each ballot.

Nominations were received for Loretta Allen, Richard Anobile, Debra Corey, Suzanne Kavanagh, Catherine Limbertie, Matthew Raizenne, Cathy Waiten, Maureen Walsh and Jacquie Williams. The nominations were closed and the voting commenced.

Q: Who is remaining on the Board?

A: B. Leps and D. O'Leary are currently in their second year term and are remaining on the Board.

Q: Why are two directors staying on?

A: For continuity, for further details please read the bylaws that have been posted on the Internet. Eventually, only three directors will be elected.

Q: Who will count the ballots?

A: The nominations committee will count the ballots.

Q: Will the number of votes be announced?

A: No, just the names.

Each candidate provided a summary of their credentials.

Results of the Election:

Alan Seymour thanked Marcus Little, David Crawford and Cherril Baker for their assistance and announced the results:

Three Year Terms:

Suzanne Kavanagh, Matthew Raizenne and Jacquie Williams

Two Year Terms:

Debra Corey, Cathy Waiten and Loretta Allen

There being no further business, it was resolved to adjourn the meeting at 9:04 p.m.

Corporate Secretary	President	



LIST OF MOTIONS

Annual General Meeting: March 31, 2010

1. Approval of Agenda

The Delegates reviewed the agenda for the meeting as circulated:

It was resolved to approve the agenda for the Delegates' meeting as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.**

MOTIONED BY: Lumumba Wolde-Gabriel

SECONDED BY: David Crawford

2. Approval of Minutes

The Delegates reviewed the minutes of the annual general meeting held on March 25, 2009.

It was resolved to approve the minutes of the Delegates' meeting held on March 25, 2009 as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.**

MOTIONED BY: Lumumba Wolde-Gabriel

SECONDED BY: David Crawford

3. Approval of Audited Financial Statements:

It was resolved to approve the audited Financial Statements for the period ending December 31 2009 as circulated. All were in favour and the motion was CARRIED.

MOTIONED BY: Matthew Raizenne SECONDED BY: Joan Campbell

4. Appointment of Auditors:

It was resolved to appoint the firm of Cowperthwaite Mehta Chartered Accountants LLP as the auditors until the next Annual General Meeting. All were in favour and the motion was CARRIED.

MOTIONED BY: Matthew Raizenne SECONDED BY: Dan O'Leary