

MINUTES OF THE DELEGATES' MEETING January 30, 2013 OWN CO-OP, 115 The Esplanade

Board of Directors in Attendance:

President: Suzanne Kavanagh, St. Lawrence on-the-Park Secretary: Jacquie Williams, Old York Tower

Treasurer: Caida Gill, London on the Esplanade VP Internal: Steve Lowden, London on the Esplanade

At Large: Dan O'Leary, 15 Scadding

At Large: John Wichelow, Windmill Line Co-op At Large: Debra Corey, 230 King Street E.

Voting Delegates in Attendance:

Catherine Limberti - 1 Church St. Wally Simpson - Crombie Park Doug Maybank - Crombie Park David Crawford - 135 George St. S. Joyce Arnold - 135 George St. S. Ewa Jarmicka – Harmony Co-op Homes Marie DeRosie - Harmony Co-op Homes Judith Nagata - 168 George St. E. Keith Bricknell - 7 King St. E. Mathieu Maslard - 230 King St. E. Deborah Field - Longboat Residents Association Joan Campbell - Market Square Sonja Secker - Market Square Alan Seymour - Old York Tower Jim Loxley - PAL. David Balcon - 313 Richmond St. E. Sherri Russell - 31 Princess Street Otto Chung - 255 Richmond St. E.

Board of Directors Regrets:

Elizabeth Ecker - St. Lawrence on the Park Toby Tenenbaum – St. Lawrence on the Park Wendy Devine - Windmill Line Co-op Brenda MacDougall - 25 The Esplanade Mary McDonald - 25 The Esplanade Lena Anderson - 140 The Esplanade Ian Campbell - Woodsworth Co-op Carol Geddis - Woodsworth Co-op Joselyn Thomson - Woodsworth Co-op Loretta Allen - Cathedral Court Margaret McQuade - David B. Archer Lois Thomson - David B. Archer Colin Randall-Smith - 25 George Street Rhonda Parto - Caroline Place James Clark - New Times Square

Regrets:

Dwight Peters - 25 The Esplanade Bluebell Planck - The Indigo Del Brown - Marketview Housing Duncan Ash - Old York Tower Eileen Boyd - PAL

Associate Members & Guests:

Tom Davidson – Pam McConnell's Office Conny Yang - OWN Don Michel -Nancy Miller - 168 King St. E. Cam Miller - 168 King St. E. Bob Neighbour - 168 King St. E Josie Visenlini - 168 King St. E Elizabeth Gianelia - 168 King St. E.. Olga Krenko - OWN Marlene Rogewska - 38 The Esplanade Brian Eng - Windmill Line
Stig Harvor - Old York Tower
Ian Campbell - Market Square
Cherril Baker - David B. Archer
Willie McCraig - City of Toronto
Alex Teixeira - City of Toronto
Jennifer Keesmaat - City Toronto Planne
Henry Lowton - 7 King St. W.
Ronny Yaron - Woodsworth Co-op

1. Registration

2. Opening Of Meeting

2.1 Opening Remarks

Suzanne Kavanagh (President) stated that she would be chairing the meeting and called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

2.2 Approval of Agenda

It was resolved to approve the agenda as presented. All were in favour and the motion was CARRIED.

MOVED BY: Keith Bricknell SECONDED BY: John Wichelow

2.3 Approval of Minutes for November 28, 2012

All were in favour and the motion was CARRIED.

MOVED BY: Wally Simpson SECONDED BY: David Crawford

3. Board Meeting Update:

- Reminder that this evening's presentation will be given by Jennifer Keesmaat, Chief Planner, City of Toronto and the theme is "Fresh Approach to City Planning"
- We are back to the OMB for 60 Colburne St. and when hearing notice goes out we will need lots of attendees
- The Board of Directors is working on the February meeting speaker

4. Presentation - Jennifer Keesmaat, Chief Planner, City of Toronto

- Jennifer Keesmaat opened her remarks by linking a distant family member, Charles Callow, who helped found the St. Lawrence Market - an important historical place in our neighbourhood and the City of Toronto
- The City of Toronto Planning Division has been chronically understaffed for a number of years but is now moving to full capacity
- 23 job competitions are underway and more will follow so that the department will be more effectively resourced by the end of March
- Broadly speaking City Planning Division sets direction; manages growth; enhances quality of life; encourages heritage in the public realm and from time to time manages special task forces such as the Gardiner Expressway's future
- 1,087 development projects in process (or 150,000 units to be built)
- There are 185 high-rise cranes up and by comparison the next biggest city builder is New York City with about 75 cranes
- About 85% of this growth is in targeted areas
- 72,000 residential units were added in 2010/2011
- Property tax revenues are not keeping up with inflation
- There are still many issues confronting how our livability will be protected
- The new transportation review launched in January 2013 "Feeling Congested?" seeks to tackle all of the ways we move
- This endeavour will affect transportation decisions for years to come
- The St. Lawrence Neighbourhood (SLN) feels the pressures for transportation relief and has the Gardiner Expressway in our backyard and is subject to a lot of growth pressure
- The SLN is up for a Design Review and needs the Heritage Conservation District study to be implemented
- The new planning staff will allow both undertakings to flow

5. Budget Update

- Caida Gill spoke on a point of clarification about the accounts of the SLNA
- About 60% of member buildings have paid their 2013 fees
- Caida reminded delegates that member building fees have to be paid by the end of February to enable delegates to vote at the upcoming AGM

6. Board Nominations

Alan Seymour told delegates that 4 positions are open on the SLNA Board of Directors and the call for nominations has begun.

7. Adjournment

	as resolved to adjourn the meeting at 9:05 p.m. All were in favour and t egates' Meeting will be held on February 27, 2013 at 7:00 p.m.
MOVED BY: SECONDED BY:	Loretta Allen Debra Corey
Secretary	President



LIST OF MOTIONS

Delegates' Meeting: January 30, 2013

1. Approval of Agenda

It was resolved to approve the agenda as presented. All were in favour and the motion was CARRIED.

MOVED BY: Keith Bricknell SECONDED BY: John Wichelow

2. Approval of the November 28, 2012 Minutes

It was resolved to approve the minutes of the Delegates' meeting held on November, 28, 2012 as amended. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.**

MOVED BY: Wally Simpson SECONDED BY: David Crawford

3. Motion to adjourn

There being no further business, it was resolved to adjourn the meeting at 9:00 p.m.. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.**

MOVED BY: Loretta Allen SECONDED BY: Debra Corey