

#### **Executive Members in Attendance:**

President: Suzanne Kavanagh, St. Lawrence on-the-Park Secretary: Jacquie Williams, Old York Tower Treasurer: Caida Gill, London on The Esplanade VP Internal: Steve Lowden, London on The Esplanade At Large: John Wichelow – Windmill Line Co-op At Large: Dan O'Leary, 15 Scadding At Large: Debra Corey, 230 King St. E.

#### Voting Delegates in Attendance:

Catherine Limbertie - 1 Church Street Catherine West - 1 Church Street David Crawford - 135 George Street Sherri Russell - 31 Princess St. Wallace Simpson - Crombie Park Lois Thompson - David B. Archer Co-op Joyce Arnold, 135 George Street South Keith Bricknell – 7 King Street East Wendy Devine - Windmill Line Co-op Doug Maybank - Crombie Park Colin Randall-Smith - 25 George Street S. New Town of York Maureen Walsh - 15 Scadding Brenda MacDougall - 25 The Esplanade Shirley Lewis - 55 The Esplanade Residents Association Lene Anderson – 140 The Esplanade Gabriele Franke - 176 The Esplanade

#### Associate Members & Guests:

Cherril Baker - David B. Archer Co-op Don Michel – 35 Hahn Barbara Ceccarelli – La Pear Genny Munghan – 168 King Street E Kimberley Spice – Bulletin Stig Harvor – Old York Tower Suzanne Smith, Recording Secretary

#### 1. REGISTRATION AND REFRESHMENTS

#### 2. OPENING OF MEETING

#### 2.1 Opening Remarks

Suzanne Kavanagh (President) stated that she would be chairing the meeting and called the annual general meeting to order at 7:18 p.m.

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING March 27, 2013 OWN CO-OP, 115 The Esplanade

**Executive Member Regrets:** 

Alan Seymour - Old York Tower Elizabeth Ecker, St. Lawrence on the Park Toby Tenenbaum - St. Lawrence on the Park Dwight Peters - 25 The Esplanade Mary McDonald - 25 The Esplanade Marie Copkov – 176 The Esplanade Ian Campbell – Woodsworth Co-op Carol Geddis - Woodsworth Co-op Judith Nagata - King George Square Connie Yang – O.W.N. Rhonda Parto - Caroline Co-op Ruth Williams - 1 Church Street Maureen Browne - London on The Esplanade Duncan Ash - Old York Tower Sonia Secker - Market Square 80 Front St. E Andrea Vechter – Market Square 35 Church St. Dennis Glasgow - The Wellington

**Regrets:** Shirley Lewis – 55 The Esplanade

Olga Kremko – OWN Tom Davidson – City of Toronto Elizabeth Mahler – David B. Archer Emily Atherton – St. Lawrence Market BIA Ronny Yaron - Woodsworth Co-op Nick Elson – Market Square

# 3 Appointment of Recording Secretary for the AGM:

It was resolved to approve the appointment of Suzanne Smith as the Recording Secretary. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.** 

MOTIONED BY:	Steve Lowden
SECONDED BY:	Toby Tenenbaum

#### 4 Approval of AGM Agenda

The Delegates reviewed the agenda for the meeting as circulated:

It was resolved to approve the agenda for the Annual General Meeting as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED**.

MOTIONED BY:	David Crawford
SECONDED BY:	Dwight Peters

# 5 Approval of 2012 AGM Minutes

The Delegates reviewed the minutes of the meeting held on March 28, 2012.

It was resolved to approve the minutes of the 2012 Annual General Meeting held on March 28, 2012 as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.** 

MOTIONED BY:	David Crawford
SECONDED BY:	Wally Simpson

# 6. Election and Procedures:

Suzanne Kavanagh turned the position of Chair over to Alan Seymour to conduct the procedures for the election of Directors. The Committee comprised of David Crawford, Alan Seymour and Suzanne Kavanagh. Alan Seymour announced that there are four vacancies, three for a term of three years and one vacancy for a two year term replacing Loretta Allen who resigned. Alan Seymour explained the process of voting for Directors, stating that only delegates whose membership is paid up could vote.

Nominations were received for Jacquie Williams, Debra Corey, Dwight Peters, Catherine Limberti and Maureen Walsh. Alan Seymour asked for nominations from the floor. Ian Campbell was nominated and accepted. Mary McDonald was nominated but did not accept. The nominations were closed. It was resolved to close the nominations.

# 7. Scrutineers:

Joyce Arnold and Cherril Baker acted as scrutineers and were supervised by David Crawford.

# 8. Acceptance of Incoming Board of Directors:

Each candidate provided a summary of their credentials. Dwight Peters, Maureen Walsh and Jacquie Williams were each elected to a position on the Board of Directors for a term of three years each and Ian Campbell was elected to the position on the Board of Directors for a term of two years.

It was resolved to accept the newly elected board. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.** 

MOTIONED BY:	Steve Lowden
SECONDED BY:	Doug Maybank

# 9. Annual Report of the Board of Directors for 2011/12

Suzanne Kavanagh provided a brief summary of the SLNA activities over the year.

### 10. Treasurer's Report:

The Treasurer's Report was presented by Caida Gill.

Caida Gill reviewed the budget for the 2012/13 fiscal year.

It was resolved to approve the audited Financial Statements for the period ending December 31, 2012 as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED**.

MOTIONED BY: Maureen Walsh SECONDED BY: Brenda McDougall

# 11. Confirmation of Accounting Firm for Upcoming Term:

It was resolved to appoint the firm of Cowperthwaite Mehta Chartered Accountants LLP as the auditors until the next Annual General Meeting. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.** 

MOTIONED BY: Caida Gill SECONDED BY: Alan Seymour

There being no further business, it was resolved to adjourn the meeting at 8:40 p.m.

**Corporate Secretary** 

President



## LIST OF MOTIONS Annual General Meeting: March 27, 2013

#### 1 Appointment of Recording Secretary for the AGM:

It was resolved to approve the appointment of Suzanne Smith as the Recording Secretary. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.** 

MOTIONED BY: Steve Lowden SECONDED BY: Toby Tenenbaum

#### 2 Approval of AGM Agenda

It was resolved to approve the agenda for the 2012 Annual General Meeting as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.** 

MOTIONED BY:	David Crawford
SECONDED BY:	Dwight Peters

#### 3 Approval of 2012 AGM Minutes

It was resolved to approve the minutes of the 2012 Annual General Meeting held on March 28, 2012 as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.** 

MOTIONED BY:	David Crawford
SECONDED BY:	Wally Simpson

#### 4 Approval of Audited Financial Statements:

It was resolved to approve the audited Financial Statements for the period ending December 31, 2012 as circulated. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.** 

MOTIONED BY:	Maureen Walsh
SECONDED BY:	Brenda McDougall

#### 5 Appointment of Auditors:

It was resolved to appoint the firm of Cowperthwaite Mehta Chartered Accountants LLP as the auditors until the next Annual General Meeting. All were in favour and the **motion was CARRIED.** 

MOTIONED BY:	Caida Gill
SECONDED BY:	Alan Seymour