

April 26, 2023

TO: CaféTO (cafeTO@toronto.ca)

RE: Permit Application 20038816 – curb lane café: 129 George Street

**RECOMMENDATION**: The St. Lawrence Neighbourhood Association supports 129 George Street in its appeal of CaféTO's initial refusal to allow a curb lane café at its location, and requests that CaféTO reconsider this application for the 2023 season.

Dear CaféTO,

With the tightening up of requirements for CaféTO permits in 2023, following the most intense period of the pandemic, the St. Lawrence Neighbourhood Association (SLNA) understands that the initial application from 129 George St. for this CaféTO season has been denied.

This café has been well supported by the community over the past several years, and in turn has itself supported community initiatives. It is in a pocket of the neighbourhood which is difficult to activate, and provides positive animation and vibrancy for its immediate neighbourhood. In addition, more eyes on the street generally leads to a somewhat safer street condition.

The St. Lawrence Neighbourhood Association (SLNA), incorporated in 1983, represents over 35,000 residents living in the St. Lawrence Neighbourhood of Toronto. The neighbourhood – bounded by Yonge St., Queen St. E., Parliament St. and the rail corridor to the south – is a mixed-income, ethnically diverse residential and commercial community adjoining the Central Business District. It contains the oldest neighbourhood in the (now) City of Toronto, the *original ten blocks* of the Town of York (dating from 1793). The George Street Diner is located just outside the original ten blocks, near the centre of the neighbourhood.

The SLNA Board of Directors appreciates your consideration of its request on behalf of 129 George St.

Sincerely,

**Board of Directors** 

St. Lawrence Neighbourhood Association

cc: <u>City Councillor</u>: <u>Councillor</u>'s <u>Staff</u>: Chris Moise <u>Edward LaRusic</u>

SLNA Board of Directors:

Ms. N. Fung Ms. V. Ilgacs Mr. K. Jackson Mr. S. Linton Ms. S. McMillan Ms. D. Patterson Ms. T. Tenenbaum Ms. R. Tilson

SLMNBIA:

Al Smith Stephen-Thomas Maciejowski